Official Name - República Argentina (Argentine Republic)
Languages - Spanish (official), English, Italian, German, French
Country Population - 37,800,000
Capital City - Buenos Aires (population 12,500,000)
Land Area - 1,056,000 square miles (about 1/3 size of USA)
Currency - Peso (1 peso = 13 cents)
Fun Facts - The Andes Mountains form the western border.
  - Although Spanish is the official language, many Italian people settled in Argentina.  Therefore most people speak Spanish with an Italian accent.
  - At the southern tip of Argentina there are seals, whales and even penguins.

Return to South America Map Page

Return to Home Page