Official Name - República de Bolivia (Republic of Bolivia)
Languages - Spanish, Quecha, Aymará (all considered official)
Country Population - 8,300,000
Capital City - La Paz (population 1,350,000)
Land Area - 425,000 square miles (about 1/6 size of USA)
Currency - Boliviano (1 boliviano = 13 cents)
Fun Facts - The Andes Mountains form the western border.
  - There are actually two capital cities: La Paz is the seat of Government (the official capital), and Sucre where the courts are located.
  - La Paz is the highest capital city in the world.
  - The bird on the flag is not an eagle, but a condor.  A condor can have a wingspan of over 6 feet.

Return to South America Map Page

Return to Home Page