Official Name - República Dominicana (Dominican Republic)
Languages - Spanish
Country Population - 8,721,000
Capital City - Santo Domingo
Land Area - 18,730 square miles (4 times the size of Connecticut)
Currency - Dominican Peso (1 peso = 5 cents)
Fun Facts - The Dominican Republic occupies 2/3rds of the Island of Hispaniola.  Haiti (where the official language is French) occupies the other 1/3rd.
  - The red and blue in the flag is from the Haitian flag.  Sometimes that flag will have the national coat of arms in the center of the white cross.

Return to Central America/Caribbean Map Page

Return to Home Page