Official Name - República de Guatemala (Republic of Guatemala)
Languages - Spanish
Country Population - 12,000,000
Capital City - Guatemala City
Land Area - 41,000 square miles (8 times the size of Connecticut)
Currency - Quetzal (1 quetzal = 13 cents)
Fun Facts - The age of voting is 18 years old, but active members of the military cannot vote.
  - The flag includes the date of Guatemala's independence which it shares with all Spanish speaking Central American countries with the exception of Panama.

Return to Central America/Caribbean Map Page

Return to Home Page