Official Name - República de Honduras (Republic of Honduras)
Languages - Spanish
Country Population - 5,863,000
Capital City - Tegucigalpa
Land Area - 43,000 square miles (8 times the size of Connecticut)
Currency - Lempira (1 lempira = 6 cents)
Fun Facts - The flag has the same colors as the flag of Guatemala. The five stars represent the members of the former Federal Republic of Central America, which became, Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, and Nicaragua.

Return to Central America/Caribbean Map Page

Return to Home Page