Official Name - República de Nicaragua (Republic of Nicaragua)
Languages - Spanish
Country Population - 4,720,000
Capital City - Managua
Land Area - 45,000 square miles (9 times the size of Connecticut)
Currency - Gold Cordoba (1 gold cordoba  = 6 cents)
Fun Facts - Nicaragua is the largest country in Central America.
  - The flag has five volcanoes on it to represent represent the members of the former Federal Republic of Central America, which became, Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, and Nicaragua.  They used volcanoes instead of stars because there are many volcanoes in Nicaragua.

Return to Central America/Caribbean Map Page

Return to Home Page