Official Name - Commonwealth of Puerto Rico
Languages - Spanish, English (both official)
Country Population - 3,957,000
Capital City - San Juan
Land Area - 3,500 square miles (slightly smaller than Connecticut)
Currency - United States Dollar
Fun Fact - Puerto Rico is not a country, but is associated with the United States.
  - Until 1898 it was under the control of Spain, but the United States gained control after the Spanish-American War.
  - The flag is similar to the flag of Cuba, but with the colors reversed.

Return to Central America/Caribbean Map Page

Return to Home Page