Official Name - República Oriental del Uruguay (Eastern Republic of Uruguay)
Languages - Spanish, Quechua, Aymará (all official)
Country Population - 3,364,000
Capital City - Montevideo (population 1,381,000)
Land Area - 67,000 square miles (12 times the size of Connecticut)
Currency - Uruguayan Peso (1 peso= 4 cents)
Fun Facts - The beaches of Uruguay are a very popular vacation spot for South American people.
  - The blue and white stripes in the flag are modeled after the flag of Argentina.

Return to South America Map Page

Return to Home Page